In vain blitz games, do an illegal move and then pressing the clock forfeits the game if the opponent cases the illegal relocate as long as they do not do a new move, as a brand-new move would void the previous illegal relocate according to FIDE blitz rules.

You are watching: Can you take the king in chess

I\"ve checked out all sort of forfeits because of this reason in blitz games, consisting of one player taking among his very own pawns.

However, the most common instance for illegal move is neglecting that the King is in examine or unprotecting the King. In this situation where the King is checked, if the foe takes the exposed king and also presses the clock, room they making a new illegal move, hence voiding the previous one?

I\"ve to be told that taking the King, also as a kind of \"joke\" to reveal a previous illegal move, is an illegal move by itself, since the King cannot be taken, just mated. Is this true under FIDE rules?


rule blitz illegal-move
share
enhance this concern
monitor
edited Jun 14 \"20 at 8:18
\"*\"

Greg young name
13744 bronze badges
asked might 15 \"12 in ~ 18:15
\"*\"

PepPep
1,29422 yellow badges1111 silver badges1616 bronze title
0
add a comment |

2 answers 2


energetic oldest Votes
14
Capturing the King is an illegal move according to FIDE.

Refer to short article 1.2 native the regulations of smashville247.net

The target of every player is to location the opponent’s king ‘under attack’ in together a means that the foe has no legitimate move. The player that achieves this score is claimed to have actually ‘checkmated’ the opponent’s king and also to have won the game. Leaving one’s very own king under attack, exposing one’s very own king to attack and also ’capturing’ the opponent’s king space not allowed. The opponent whose king has been checkmated has actually lost the game.


share
improve this prize
follow
answered may 15 \"12 at 18:40
\"*\"

PeskyGnatPeskyGnat
1,3131010 silver badges1515 bronze title
0
add a comment |
14
This is actually an extremely common in blitz games. Acquisition the opponent\"s king is taken into consideration to be a claim of an illegal move. You deserve to see mine answer come this concern for some an ext information.

See more: Red Solo Cup Video Toby Keith, Red Solo Cup (Unedited Version)

Since acquisition the opponent\"s king is a claim instead of a move, it instantly ends the game. In blitz games, the player \"capturing\" the king wins. In slow games, taking the king is in fact illegal, and also if a player walk this, the position would be reset come the position before the first illegal move, and then any touch relocate rules would certainly apply. If there were time pressure considerations, one or both players could have two minutes added to your clocks at the arbiter\"s discretion.

From the FIDE Appendix because that Blitz and Rapidplay

Article A.4.c:

An illegal relocate is completed as soon as the opponent’s clock has been started. The enemy is licensed has been granted to case a win prior to he has made his own move. However, if the opponent cannot checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legit moves, then the claimant is entitled to case a draw prior to he has actually made his very own move. Once the adversary has do his very own move, an illegal move cannot be corrected uneven mutually i agree without intervention of an arbiter.