195 sovereign states have been recognized by the united Nations. It consists of 193 member states and also 2 observer states. Of these, there room no countries that start with the letter W. However, Wales, a constituent country of the unified Kingdom, starts with W. Noteworthy regions that start with W include:

Places beginning With the Letter W


Wales is a country that is part of the an excellent Britain Island and also the joined Kingdom. The main languages spoken are English and also Welsh. Bristol Channel borders the state on the South, England on the East, and the ireland Sea ~ above the North and also West. The Welsh country emerged native Celtic Britons when the Romans i was withdrawn from brother in the 5th century. Politically, Wales is component of the joined Kingdom. In the home of Commons, the lower house of UK parliament, Wales has forty MPs. In the past 250 years, the economic situation of Wales has actually rapidly changed from a predominantly agricultural one to that dependent ~ above the industry. Wales has a center climate comparable to the remainder of the UK.

Western Sahara

Western Sahara continues to be a disputed region of phibìc Africa. That is partially managed by Moroccan occupants and self-proclaimed Sahrawi Arab autonomous Republic. Mauritania boundaries Western Sahara to the East and South, Algeria to the Northeast, the Atlantic ocean to the West and Morocco come the North. Politically, Polisario Front and also Morocco government dispute for the region. West Sahara’s legality stays unresolved. The major ethnic group in this an ar is Sahrawis, speaking Hassaniya dialect of Arabic. Economically, western Sahara is wealthy in phosphate reserves and also fishing waters. It likewise has couple of natural resources. The region experiences hot and also dry climatic conditions. Rainfall is negligible in most parts of west Sahara. Huge stretches that sandy desert cover together area.

You are watching: Country that starts with letter w

Western Samoa

Western Samoa is an live independence state, having actually a unitary houses of parliament democracy through eleven administrative divisions. It also has 2 islands: Upolu and also Savai’i. The official languages room English and Samoan. The Lapita human being discovered the Samoan islands 3500 year ago. Samoa is amongst the republic Nations. The industrial sector produce the biggest Gross residential Product of 58.4%. It is adhered to by the services sector in ~ 30.2%. Farming follows through 11.4%. West Samoa experience tropical climate transparent the year. It has actually two seasons: the dry season from might to October and the wet season indigenous November to April.

WA me

Wa me is a self-administered division in Myanmar (Burma). It is composed of 2 regions: Southern and also Northern. The Southern region borders Thailand and it has a populace of 200,000 people. WA me was officially called by a decree passed on respectable 20, 2010. The WA government recognizes the sovereignty the its main government above all the Myanmar. The government claimed Wa me to be self-administered by the Wa people. Currently, that is administered by the government of the, "de facto live independence Wa State." Its official name is WA Special an ar 2. Mandarin-Chinese and Wa are spoken here. In the past, the economic situation of Wa Self had been relying mostly on minus production. Currently, with Chinese assistance, Wa Self has moved towards growing tea and also rubber. Today, WA self grows 220,000 acre of rubber. The migrate of citizens from hills to productive valleys has added to cultivation of corn, vegetables, and wet rice. The economy of Wa Self depends on China who supports it financially, offers weapons, and civilian advisors.

Alphabet and Countries

There are no known sovereign says that begin with the letter W. In fact, W and X space the only alphabetic letters that carry out not have any countries start with the letter.

See more: What Does Reversed Mean In Court Of Appeals Has Issued Their Decision

The letter O, Q, and Y start the surname of one country each, composed of Oman, Qatar, and Yemen respectively.