After numerous readers asked us, “are nerds vegan?” we also wanted come answer the follow-up question: room jelly bean vegan?

It is no so straightforward to be a vegetables if you are fond of jelly beans at the exact same time. Unfortunately, the majority of jelly bean brands room not vegan. Plenty of gummy, chewy candies have actually ingredients that space not acceptable to those complying with vegan lifestyle.

You are watching: Do jelly beans have gelatin in them

*

Haribo is a global well-known brand. However getting your jelly beans may be a problem. If friend live in Europe, look because that them online or shot your happy in a neighborhood candy store.

The full ingredients:

SugarModified corn starchGlucose syrupCitric acidCarnauba waxFlavorsGum arabicCurcuminAnthocyaninsFruit and plants concentrates (sweet potato, apple, safflower, Spirulina)

All the ingredients room made of plants, so they are vegan of course.

But below is plain “sugar” in the ingredient list, the is possibly made v the help of skeleton of cows). For this reason its intake might be risky because that vegans.

Unfortunately, their support doesn’t clear up the situation and doesn’t prize vegans asking about this. That’s why Haribo Jelly beans are maybe vegan.

Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans

The complete ingredient list:

Corn SyrupSugarCornstarch2% or less of sodium LactateMalic AcidLactic acid Natural and also Artificial FlavorsCarnauba WaxGum ArabicArtificial colour (Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1, and Yellow 5).Mineral Oil

As you have the right to see, here are some potential non-vegan ingredients Colorings Red 40, Yellow 5 and also 6, Blue 1 and Sugar that might be processed using bones. Jolly Rancher is a large company the obviously has numerous sugar suppliers. So here is a good chance that several of them procedure their sugar this way.

The 2nd point is the fabricated colorings. This is a grey area, surrounded by animal testing. It’s only up come you if you discover it acceptable or not as colorings themselves perform not save animal-derived products.

A decision about these ingredients may vary from person to person. So Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans might be vegan yet may it is in not, it depends on your views.

Are Jelly belly Beans Vegan?

One of the most well-known jelly beans carriers in the civilization is Jelly Belly.

*

This brand contains virtually the exact same ingredients as many of the other jelly bean mentioned above which may not be vegan: Yellow 5 and 6, Red 40, Blue 1 and also 2 colorings and confectionery glaze.

See more: Examples Of Adverbs Can Modify All Except Which Part Of Speech?

At the exact same time, the product does no contain beeswax, for this reason Starburst Jelly beans are most likely not vegan.

The list of ingredients:

Corn syrupSugarFood starchCitric acidApple juice from concentrateGum acaciaArtificial and also natural flavorsConfectionery glazeColoring (red 40, yellow 5, blue 1, yellow 6)