Starburst: the square-shaped, fruit-flavored, chewy candy of your childhood. Owned by Mars, Incorporated, Starbursts have actually been a candy-lover favourite for decades. If you"re plant-based or can"t have actually dairy, fruity liquid is commonly a for sure bet, but many check-out aisle candies have long ingredient lists. Most chocolate sold in this section has milk or milk products, and also even some dairy- and egg-free candies contain pet products. There are many animal product-derived colors, preservatives, and also texture agents, do many products that it seems ~ vegan-friendly upon an initial glance no vegan friendly. This begs the question: space Starburst vegan? i asked Mars to find out.

You are watching: Do starburst have gelatin in them

Starburst Ingredients

*
Caroline Ingalls

If girlfriend flip end a package of Starburst, you"ll find an ingredient list. After ~ corn syrup, sugar, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, fruit juice from concentrate (apple, lemon, strawberry, orange, cherry), citric acid, and dextrin, you discover GELATIN published on the list.

Gelatin is a mixture the proteins and peptides obtained from the bones, connective tissues, and skin of animal products, most regularly beef, pigs, chicken, and also fish. Since gelatin is one animal-derived product, Sarburst cannot be thought about strictly vegan. In fact, some can not even take into consideration them vegetarian.

So, are Starbust Vegan?


*
Carmina Valdez

To triple examine myself because that accuracy, i contacted Wringley consumer Affairs (the equipments of Starburst), inquiring if Starburst room vegan. The candy firm politely responded with all ample information, informing me the gelatin produced from beef was provided in every Starburst Fruit Chew varieties. 

The representative educated me that while your team is repeatedly looking for alternatives to animal-derived ingredients, they have actually not yet found one enough that meets the same quality standards. The agent also listed that gelatin was removed from every Skittles assets in 2009, indicating an animal-free alternative.

See more: Gold 1 10 Troy Oz In Grams Of Gold Converter, Troy Ounces To Grams Conversion

The moral of the Starburst Story


Although Starburst are not vegan, there are many vegan liquid on the market, including countless gelatin-free fruity chewy candy alternatives (check out Trader Joe"s Scandinavian Swimmers and also thank me later). Perhaps sooner or later Wrigley will eliminate gelatin from an ext of your candies, however until that happens I"ll stick come dark chocolate.