Laura Moss is a journalist with an ext than 15 year of endure writing about science, nature, culture, and the environment.

You are watching: What candy have pork in it


*
Dmitry Sheremeta / Shutterstock

Gelatin strikes again, yet luckily you have the right to make your own vegan marshmallows through agar-agar, so you won"t miss out on any type of of the gooey s"mores goodness.


Non-Dairy Creamer

Although it has non-dairy in that name, numerous such creamers contain casein, a protein acquired from milk.


Omega-3 commodities

Many products with labels that boast your heart-healthy ingredients contain omega-3 fat acids acquired from fish. Because that example, Tropicana"s Hearth healthy and balanced orange juice"s brand lists tilapia, sardine and also anchovy together ingredients.


Peanuts

Some brands of peanuts, such as Planters dry roasted peanuts, also contain gelatin due to the fact that the substance helps salt and also other seasonings adhere to the nuts.


Potato Chips

Some flavored potato chips, especially those flavored through powdered cheese, can contain casein, whey or animal-derived enzymes. PETA maintains a list of popular vegan-friendly snacks.


*
Handmade photos / Shutterstock

Sugar isn"t normally white, so manufacturers process it using bone char, i beg your pardon is do from the skeleton of cattle. To prevent sugar filtered v bone char, purchase unrefined sugar or buy indigenous brands the don"t use bone-char filters.


Refried bean

Many crate refried beans room made v hydrogenated lard, so check labels to ensure you"re to buy vegetarian beans.


Vanilla-Flavored foodstuffs

Although it"s rare, some foods items are flavored with Castoreum, a beaver anal secretion. As gross at that sounds, the FDA classifies it as GRAS, or "generally well-known as safe," and also Castoreum is typically detailed as "natural flavoring." The additive is most often used in baked products as a vanilla substitute, however it"s also been offered in alcohol addict beverages, puddings, ice cream, candy and chewing gum.

See more: How Many Grams Are In 1 Liter S To Grams, Liters To Grams Converter


Worcestershire Sauce

This popular sauce is made v anchovies, but vegetarian-friendly brands room available.